LOTR #1

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien (Book #1)

Hello everyone and welcome back to the blog. I know I have been absent for a little while but I have a number of books on my reading list to get through over the next month or so so the posts will get more regular.

Anyhow back to the review.

So this was NOT what I was expecting after, like a lot of people, watching it (roughly) every year since childhood.

It took me a while to get up with where I remember the movie starting/finishing. I felt at time like I was reading, but not going anywhere. I did take my time with this book and it took me time to get into it.

It was not until about halfway through when Frodo go to Rivendell that I found myself remembering the magic of this series; that was brought to life by director Peter Jackson all those years ago.

lotr1

Movie poster of LOTR: The Fellowship Of The Ring

If you were wondering how does the book and movie tie together, I would say pretty well with changes like always. I still love the characters of Frodo, Legolas and Aragorn with Gimli and co., but I do find myself thinking about some characters that I will look for when I see the movie next and question. I liked Boromir (Sean Bean) but in the book he is slightly power hungry (see “One does not simply..”) and a few characters that were taken out. Like with any adaption, you can’t have every detail.

I am not sure how the Two Towers will go compared to the movie but I guess I will find out soon enough…

Keep reading,

Sam

Leave a Reply

