Far From The Madding Crowd

Title: Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

Bathsheba Everdene. Where do I even start with this book?

Te book takes place over a period of time so we do see the characters how so change and stay the same. I thought I would read the book before I watched the movie which stars Carey Mulligan and Michael Sheen.

Bathsheba has three love interests throughout this book, one she marries, one she rejects and one who through everything loves her anyway. My favourite definately is the one that makes the reader swoon, the farmer, Gabriel Oak.

Oak isn’t complicated and loves her for her and nothing else. The other contenders for Bathsheba’s heart have their own stories of how they came about. Frank Troy is the center of the book-long arc of the mysterious Fanny Robin and you wonder why the bachelor William Boldwood is not married. Poor him though.

So that is my years classic. I am not sure what else to say but it is slow and keep with it, it surprises you in the end. I will check out the movie at some point though now I have read the book.

-Sam

Leave a Reply

